Vic Debsoc

Past Members

Debsoc has a great number of past members who have gone on to top various fields and become well known names around New Zealand and the world. A number of the most noteworthy former Debsoc members are listed below. 

Hon Christopher Finlayson – Attorney-General (2008- present), Minister of Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations (2008-present) and Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage (2008-present)

Hon Bill English – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance (2008-present)

Hon Tim Groser – Minister for Trade (2008-present), Minister for International Climate Change Negotiations (2008-present)

Russell Fairbrother – Labour Party MP

Hamish Hancock – former National Party MP and now Crown Counsel.

Raybon Kan – Comedian, Sunday Star-Times columnist

John Platts-Mills QC – Rhodes Scholar and UK MP

Judge Peter Boshier – Principal Judge of the Family Court of New Zealand

Justice Stephen Kos (former prominent Wellington barrister, formerly Chairman of Partners at Russell McVeagh, now Justice of the High Court of New Zealand)

Sir Matthew OramSpeaker of the New Zealand House of Representatives 1950-1957

Rt.Hon. Sir Humphrey O’Leary KCMG – Chief Justice of New Zealand, 1946-1953

Rt.Hon. Edmund (Ted) Thomas – acting Justice of the Supreme Court of New Zealand

Sir Brian ElwoodNew Zealand Chief Ombudsman 1994-2003

Sir David Smith – Justice of the Supreme Court (now the High Court) and Chancellor of Victoria University

Oswald Chettle Mazengarb QC – Prominent Barrister and author of the Mazengarb Report

Peter Biggs – Head of Colenso and former Chair of Creative NZ

Gerard Curry – Senior litigation partner in Russell McVeagh and lawyer for Alain Mafart and Dominique Prieur

The Society has also had a number of members go on to be Rhodes Scholars to Oxford University. This is New Zealand’s most prestigous scholarship. These members are:

Malcolm Birdling

Chelsea Payne

Alexandra Gillespie

John Platts-Mills